Mighty Leaf Tea Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag

Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag

Pear Caramel Truffle black tea is made with Washington state pears, blended with Ceylon and China black tea, sweet bits of caramel and chocolate chips. A Mighty Leaf signature blend, consider this luscious and rich tea the perfect after-dinner dessert tea or afternoon treat. Loose tea in 4 oz bag
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 Leaves
4
4 Leaves
2
3 Leaves
2
2 Leaves
2
1 Leaf
1
3 out of 7(43%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Review 1 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TsingTao
Location: Upstate NY
Tea Flavor: Fruity
Best Uses: Anytime
Describe Yourself: Tea Enthusiast

not very good

Date:June 15, 2009
Pros: Great Aroma
Cons: Flat, way to strong
"This tea, unfortuanatly was not very good, i had high hopes with this tea and it disappointed me alot. The flavour of the black tea is so strong and the pear flavour doesnt actually taste of pear at all. the caramel was not even there.
i attempted to let it stew for differant times using differant methods and none seemed to work at all.
overall disappointed"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SunnyScorpio
Location: Portland, OR
Tea Flavor: Malty
Best Uses: Morning
Describe Yourself: Tea Enthusiast

A Bit Too Pear-Shaped Of A Brew

Date:March 4, 2009
Pros: Great Aroma
Cons: Bitter, Flat, sweetness overshadowed
"Earlier this week I was delighted to find a miniature-tin assortment of Chocolate Truffle Teas on sale, so enthusiastically purchased it, and this was the first of the four tins I tried; pouring a little of the loose leaves into my stainless steel infuser ball and gently letting it sink into my borosilicate glass flowering teapot.
The aroma was promising certainly but, unfortunately, I was ultimately disappointed with how overly strong the Ceylon flavoring was, where it was as though I had to close my eyes and concentrate in a more stoic tea-tasting fashion to decipher the caramel undertone. Even adding two teaspoons of Rapadura sugar and a gentle kiss of milk to it didn't help enhance the flavor to desired effect; leaving it too robust of a black tea and too submissive of a dessert tea.
I would suggest adjusting the ratio of Ceylon leaves to caramel and pear pieces to a more even scale, and perhaps adding a hint of hazelnut to broaden its profile. As it stands, concerning dessert teas, this can't help but appear to be a heptagon peg in a round hole, but I nonetheless admire the idea here and I believe with some tinkering in proportionality, this could potentially be a favorite."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kari
Location: summerville,sc
Tea Flavor: Fruity
Best Uses: Anytime
Describe Yourself: Tea Enthusiast

Don't think this is too sweet

Date:March 3, 2009
Pros: Great Aroma, Smooth Body
Cons: Bitter
"There was a warming aroma of pear from the package and from the infused leaves. I could really taste the pear as I breathed it in. The caramel was just enough in the background and complmented the pear flavor."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mentia999
Location: Worcester, MA
Best Uses: Dessert Tea

Date:February 8, 2009
Pros: Great Aroma, High Quality
Cons: can be overpowering
"To get the best results from this tea, I would recommend brewing it for the exact amount of time suggested and not longer. Also, if you allow room for the tea to circulate the other flavors are more noticeable (tea balls sometimes compress the tea, making it hard for the caramel and chocolate to melt).
This is a very strong tea, so care is needed in brewing it to get a more rounded flavor, but if done properly, it is a nice black with a noticeable sweet pear/caramel/chocolate aftertaste."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alice
Location: San Rafael, CA
Tea Flavor: Malty
Describe Yourself: Tea Enthusiast

Too strong

Date:June 17, 2008
Pros: Great Aroma
Cons: Bitter, Flat
"This tea, no matter how I steeped it, was too strong. I just couldn't taste the pear at all. All I could taste was a very strong black tea flavor."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EinAtlanta
Location: Atlanta, GA
Tea Flavor: Fruity
Best Uses: Dessert Tea
Describe Yourself: Tea Enthusiast

Best of the Truffle Teas

Date:June 12, 2008
Pros: Great Aroma, Smooth Body
"My husband gave me the truffle tea sampler and this variety was the best in the box. Some varieties of ML truffle tea are very acidic, but I found the pear note created a lighter flavor and thus a more drinkable tea. I was thrilled to find chocolate tea now available in the states! I first had some in Spain years ago and never thought I would get to drink this treat again. This tea has a broad appeal and is a great conversation piece for entertaining."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
teaseeker
Location: Bronx, New York
Tea Flavor: Fruity
Best Uses: Dessert Tea
Describe Yourself: Tea Enthusiast

Too Overpowering

Date:May 19, 2008
"I was disappointed in this tea. I couldn't really identify the flavors except for the hint of chocolate. I was expecting more of a pleasant pear taste and aroma but I thought the flavors and aroma were too strong."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gothic Charm School
Location: Seattle, WA

An amazing scent and taste

Date:February 12, 2008
Pros: Great Aroma, Smooth Body, Unique Flavor Profile, High Quality, Whole Leaf Tea
"The Pear Caramel Truffle tea is one of my all-time favorites. I've tried similar teas, and while many of them smell lovely, the aroma doesn't carry through to the flavor. This tea not only smells gorgeous (I want a perfume like this!), but has a complex flavor where the pear and the caramel are as present as the taste of the black tea."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jodi
Location: Iowa

Truffle adds to pear caramel

Date:January 20, 2008
Pros: High Quality
"I was a little hesitant about the truffle tea, but really liked it. I like both the plain pear caramel and the pear caramel with truffle."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Patty-Research Chef
Location: San Diego, CA

Added flavor much too strong

Date:December 10, 2007
Pros: Pear 2 strong
Cons: Flavor 2 strong
"It would be better if the tea flavor would come through more rather than the pear taking over. Subtle is better. I'd reduce the flavor by 50%."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pear Caramel Truffle 4 oz. bag
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alicia
Location: Cleveland Heights, OH

Incredible pear tea

Date:November 17, 2007
Pros: Unique Flavor Profile, Smooth Body, Whole Leaf Tea, High Quality, Great Aroma
"I love this tea. It doesn't just smell great and taste like nothing, like some teas. The pear flavor is true and wonderful. The caramel adds the perfect amount of sweetness. It's absolutely delicious."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.